Rosemary Berkel Crisp Award

Rosemary Berkel Crisp Award

Southern Illinois has many outstanding women. The Rosemary Berkel Crisp Award was established in 1997 to recognize these special women. This award is named in tribute to its first recipient, Rosemary Berkel Crisp. Each year one exceptional woman of unselfish character and generous volunteerism who demonstrates great enthusiasm for the people of southern Illinois is honored with this award at the Southern Illinois Women's Health Conference. The recipient is a woman who is committed to healthy families and healthy communities a woman who has contributed to the advancement or support of others or her community, through her volunteer efforts or personal contributions.

Download 2017 Nomination Form

The selection criteria for the award are:

  1. Nominees must be 18 years of age or older;
  2. Nominees must be a resident of southern Illinois for a minimum of five (5) years;
  3. Steering Committee members of the Southern Illinois Women's Health Conference and the Southern Illinois Women's Teen Conference may be nominees;
  4. Members of the Board of Directors of Women for Health and Wellness, Inc., and the Rosemary Berkel Crisp Award Selection Committee may not be accepted;
  5. One (1) letter of nomination is required, preferably typed or legibly written;
  6. Additional supporting evidence including testimonials or additional documentation is encouraged; and
  7. Nominees will be considered based on their volunteer efforts or personal contributions to the advancement or support of others or their community and without regard to race, religion or background.

Past Recipients

1997 Rosemary Berkel Crisp

1998 LaVell Cox, Carbondale

1999 Rebecca Hartman, M.D., Carbondale, and Cleta Whitacre, Marion

2000 Sandy Davis, West Frankfort

2001 Lori Schmider, Ph.D., Carterville

2002 Laverne O'Brien, Carbondale

2003 Patricia Bauer, Benton

2004 Ella Phillips Lacey, Ph.D., Carbondale

2005 Amy Oxford, Harrisburg

2006 Toni’ Intravaia, Carbondale

2007 Penny Patton Tippy, M.D., West Frankfort

2008 Marlene Dietz, Carbondale

2009 Sarah Bethel, Benton (formerly Marion)

2010 Joan Hart, Carbondale

2011 Kathleen Fralish, Ph.D., Carbondale

2012 Michelle Hamilton, Marion

2013 Rosi Marie Ervin, Carbondale

2014 Mary Gray, Carbondale

2015 Ruth Ann Carter, Benton

2016 Mary Ellen Aiken, Benton


Social Media